Coming Full Circle

I feel as if I’ve come full circle. If only for a brief moment. 

I’m sitting here, full from a delicious filet minion dinner from the Keg (It was my Uncle’s birthday today), reflecting on things that I’m unconditionally grateful for. Here’s two.

My grades are 100% so far for my expressive writing class, and I’ve got to say that feels damn good. There’s a steady flow of self doubt that runs through my thoughts every time I go to write, but once I hush it and focus, the outcome is usually pleasing. My teacher commented that my last assignment was written exceptionally well. It was a piece about an even that has happened to us that we hold special. Mine was a past lover and my open minded experiences, how they changed and effected my life. It feels funny to time travel through memories like that, through feelings, and write them down again as if to relive them. I guess that’s what writing can be a lot of times though, reliving the past. 

Another thing I’m grateful for is that in taking this chance to take this class and get my creative and scholarly juices flowing a bit, I was able to be thought of for a cool experience – to write an article for a cocktail festival in B.C called the Art of the Cocktail! It was my first time writing such a piece and it was a lot of fun researching and throwing it all together. It was also my first time being edited and that in itself was pretty unnerving. It made me wonder if all writers that go through editors feel as if some of their work is stolen from them because I wont lie, I kind of did. Nevertheless I am thrilled to know that a small piece I wrote will actually be published. MY words, published for people to actually tangibly read! How exciting. Since I’ve been writing poetry & my thoughts since the age of 10 – this, to me, is coming full circle. Possibly the start of me coming into my own and my self actualization which I wrote about earlier this summer. 

Here’s the unedited version of my article, before the fat was trimmed:

Cocktails – Timeless Elegance. 

Image

Cocktails have always been, in the drink world, a sophisticated classic. Women everywhere look forward to those nights out with their girlfriends after a hard day’s work to sip their favourite mixed drinks out of their classy glasses with assorted fruity accessories. It’s more than just a drink, it’s a statement. They’re sexy elegance can be seen from across any room. The cocktail itself is always composed of a few key ingredients; different kinds of alcohol, sugars, bitters, and nowadays many exciting new additions that have created modern cocktails you can read about today!

 It is widely known to be an American invention but the drink actually made it’s start in London in the 18th Century. The first British book of Cocktail Recipes was published in 1869 by William Terrington, called William Terrington’s Cooling Cups and Dainty Drinks. Although it was said to be a man’s drink in those days, there were women eager to drink these concoctions as well. Cathrine Gilbert Murdock, author of Domesticating Drink: Women, Men, and Alcohol in America, 1870-1940, argues that women’s at-home drinking contributed greatly to the trend of alcohol consumption in the twentieth century. She noted that it was the cocktail that “legitimized as no other beverage could alcohol consumption in the home.”

 Old Hollywood and it’s first motion picture actors that played well-to-do women usually had cocktails integrated into their everyday lives on screen. In the 1950 movie All About Eve, Bette Davis’ character Margo Channing mentions cocktails in this line: “I’ll admit I may have seen better days…but I’m still not to be had for the price of a cocktail, like a salted peanut.” Women, though very sassy, were always portrayed as having a sophisticated air about them, and the image of the cocktail enhanced that. From the French 75 in Casablanca, to Cosmopolitans on Sex and the City, cocktails still play an important role on film and will forever be the essence of class and femininity.

 We should embrace being women in 2013, and what better way to celebrate than with a delicious cocktail! You can find many drink recipes online for any occasion or season but fall has something special in the air, doesn’t it? Why not try these fun mixes : A Spiced Caramel Apple Cocktail, a Hot Cider Toddy, or a Fig Sidecar! There’s nothing wrong with indulging yourself in a tasty drink and saying “I am woman, hear me roar!” 

Cheers!
___________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Yep, I am grateful….

What are you thankful for?

Don’t neglect reflecting on such things, it’s a healthy reminder!

Leave a Reply

