Routines

Every day, people all over the world accomplish the same routine on a daily basis.

This is something I’ve always struggled with. Having to be somewhere at a certain time, for a certain length of time, whether I wanted to be or not.

Yes, in essence routine is essential to life. A fact I can hardly run from anymore.

Being unemployed and moving out of my apartment and back in with my family was the biggest blessing in disguise I’ve gotten this year. I now have time to get fit, to read, reflect and relax. Time to figure out essentially what I’d like to do, what I am capable of, and how far in life I want to go.

Pushing myself has never actually happened. Well, for the right reasons. I can see myself now, back when I was 18… pushing myself to walk alone or take that bus (which gives me great anxiety), to go see that cute guy that wanted to hangout with me. Pushing myself into something academic or productive…. well, that’s always been another story. It’s always been my comfort over diligence. A regret of mine, no doubt.

I’m happy to say that instead of wallowing in this regret, I’ve come to see that life has so many opportunities for change and growth. We just have to really open our eyes to them.

The average person wakes  up at the same time, showers, cleans their face, brushes their teeth and are on their productive way out into society…but what about us “lost” folk? I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s woken up days and just sat. Simply sat, gaining weight, losing sight, and not being productive. Part of it is sheer laziness, “oh I don’t have to do anything so I might as well do nothing”. Part of it is not knowing where to start with all of the activities that could be filling up my spare time… and part of it is knowing how amazing I can be and just backing down from it. I’m not sure why that is, but I know it’s got to stop.

Yesterday I made the command decision to stop feeling complacent and start acting. Start doing, start actually applying myself to life, to actually live. I’ve been cooped up in my comfort zone, so wrapped up in blankets, to really blossom into the amazing woman I am.

Something as simple as a routine can really effect how you see yourself and how each of your days go. Why not wake up feeling prepared? Feeling ready to take on your day. Even if you have to plan out little tasks for yourself to accomplish, once you succeed in doing them.. you’ll start to remember what it feels like to make yourself proud.

Jobs will come, time will continue to move on… and you’ll grow. It doesn’t matter how long it takes you to grow, to find that routine that suits you, just as long as you do it!

Image

Leave a comment